Pure Town Planning are willing to work wherever we are asked but, being based in Bournemouth and Winchester, our main area is Dorset and Hampshire with regular forays into Wiltshire and the Isle of Wight – these are the Councils we know best.

Below are all the Local Planning Authorities* of Dorset, Hampshire, Wiltshire and the Isle of Wight with links to their planning pages. Click on those in bold for useful insights into developing in these areas…

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council

Dorset Council

Winchester City Council

Southampton City Council 

Eastleigh Borough Council

New Forest District Council 

New Forest National Park Authority 

Test Valley Borough Council

Fareham Borough Council

Portsmouth City Council

Hampshire County Council

Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council

Gosport Borough Council

Havant Borough Council

East Hampshire District Council

Hart District Council

Rushmoor Borough Council

South Downs National Park Authority

Isle of Wight Council

Wiltshire Council

*Local Planning Authority is the legal term for the body which is given the responsibility for handling planning functions in a particular area. It may be a County Council, a District, Borough or City Council or a National Park Authority. Traditionally rural areas have a two-tier system with a County Council performing some planning functions and a District or Borough Council handling most day-to-day applications – this is still the case for most of Dorset and Hampshire. Urban areas have tended to switch to the Unitary system where a single Council handles all functions – this is the case for Bournemouth, Poole, Southampton and Portsmouth. Wiltshire and the Isle of Wight are now also Unitary Authorities. Local Planning Authorities all act broadly in the same way but each sets the planning policies for its area and each has its own particular quirks in carrying out its functions.